Latest news...

All the latest news.


consumer warning
Beat the con-men! Stay one step ahead and keep an eye on our consumer warnings...

Approved Code Scheme

Consumer Codes Approval Scheme

What is the CCAS?


The CCAS is facilitated self-regulation. It aims to bolster consumer protection and improve customer service standards by:

  • the approval and promotion of codes of practice
  • setting out the principles of effective customer service
  • recognising approved traders - look for the CTSI approved code logo

In April 2012, the Department for Business, Innovation & Skills (BIS) invited CTSI to establish a successor to the Office of Fair Trading CCAS on a self-funding basis from April 2013. The management of the scheme has now transferred to the Consumer Codes Approval Board (CCAB) operated by CTSI.

The scheme is designed to strike a balance between:

What is involved in the approval process?

The two-stage approval process ensures the code sponsor will adhere to set code criteria including:

  • the provision of clear pre-contractual information
    protection of prepayments
  • dealing with consumers in their own home
    monitoring procedures
  • independent dispute resolution schemes

Codes will be approved only if they can robustly demonstrate a potential reduction in consumer detriment. Codes approval is intended to be a rigorous and intensive process for code sponsors.

Click here for more information.

Funded by BIS

The European Consumer Centre for Services is hosted by the Trading Standards Institute and funded by the Department for Business Innovation and Skills.